Archive for October 17th, 2008

Never leave a painting mediocre; it’s better to take a chance with it

October 17, 2008

Guy Corriero

Although I have always drawn, my formal art education began at the School of Visual Arts in NY and continued at C.W.Post College where I studied painting with Jules Olitsky and sculpture with Pierre Bourdelle. Immediately after graduation I entered the United State Marine Corps and was assigned to the Marine Corps Gazette as an illustrator. There I learned skills which I was able to use upon my discharge when I worked as a commerical artist in New York. A part time job at the State University of New York at Farmingdale soon led to a full time position in the Commercial Art Division at the college. Shortly after receiving my Master’s from Hostra University, I moved to Upstate New York where I assisted in the establishment of a Fine Arts curriculum at Herkimer County Community College. I enjoyed my teaching career and still recall many wonderful experiences with the enthusiastic young men and women in my classes. Shortly before retiring I received the New York Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Sharon and I divide our time now between Portland, ME and San Miquel de Allende, MX. where I love painting the scenes and people of this wonderful colonial city.

My approach to painting is constantly changing. I paint both out of doors and in the studio. As one might imagine this apparent inconsistant approach can be most frustrating. Before I begin a painting I pace the floor, make unnecessary phone calls and trips to the store just to delay getting down to the intense business of producing a painting. Even minutes before I put brush to paper I have not decided what subject matter I am going to paint or in what medium. Studies are sometimes done but most often I begin in an attempt to recreate a scene I have in my mind. I do, however, always have a mental and/or drawn value plan. It’s my belief that the piece will be successful if the values are well thought out and kept to a minimum. I am consistant with my palette colors, or I’d drive myself crazy. The challenge really comes down to painting what I have envisioned in my mind’s eye. At times I come really close to the image but often the painting takes on a life of its own. The latter doesn’t always work but when it does, its an award winner. All of the paintings which led to my acceptance as a signature member of AWS were done on location. Conversely, all those paintings which have been accepted into their annual exhibitions have been in studio!

My professional achievements include signature memberships in many watercolor societies including the American Watercolor Society. I have had many one person as well as group shows in galleries, museums and art centers in New York, New Mexico, Massachusetts, Maine, Florida, Michigan and San Miquel de Allende, Mexico. I have been honored to receive many awards and purchase prizes in these exhibits.

Currently I show my paintings, both oil and watercolor, in galleries in New York, Maine, Massachusetts, Vermont and Mexico. There are also seventeen instructional videos ranging from painting, sculpture, art history and art appreciation available for sale from Educational Videos of Huntsville, Texas.

http://www.guycorriero.com/NewFiles/bio.html