I don’t like to say I have given my life to art. I prefer to say art has given me my life.

Frank Stella

Color Maze 1966

(b Malden, MA, 12 May 1936). American painter and printmaker. In his career he was an innovator, rather than responding to the innovations of others, and he often confounded his peers. He suggested that his painting was significantly shaped by the fact that he was among the first generation of artists for whom the rightful existence of abstraction was assumed, and he steadfastly maintained that it was the only post-war idiom capable of sustaining the highest ambitions for painting.

http://www.answers.com/topic/frank-stella

Leave a Reply

