My attitude towards drawing is not necessarily about drawing. It’s about making the best kind of image I can make, it’s about talking as clearly as I can.

Jim Dine

Jim Dine, Tool Box VI (Donald Duck)

Tool Box VI (Donald Duck) 1966

Born in Ohio in 1935, Dine grew up working at a family-owned hardware store. Upon moving to New York in 1959, he immediately became part of the avant-garde art scene. At the time, many other artists responded to the broader culture with deadpan popular imagery; meanwhile, Dine created a unique style, electing to combine elements from popular culture with personal content. Using this as a guiding principle, he then selected images to represent both his inner self and his artistic persona. Eventually these images, including hearts, skulls, clothing, and tools, reached iconic status in his art, for they became blatantly self-referential.

The process of art-making itself, for Dine, is indeed a highly personal experience. In the case of his printmaking, Dine started with a basic image. Each time the artist viewed the image before him, he would respond to it by drawing gestural marks and adding bits of color. Dine returned to his work several times, gradually adding to the background atmosphere and subtly manipulating the lines surrounding the image. Every individual process brought about its own conclusion – whether or not the artwork produced the desired emotional effect – and as a whole, the finished piece represents a culmination of his satisfaction.

http://www.tandempress.wisc.edu/tandem/gallery/dine/dine.htm

Tags:

One Response to “My attitude towards drawing is not necessarily about drawing. It’s about making the best kind of image I can make, it’s about talking as clearly as I can.”

  1. Artist Quote-Jim Dine « The Outer Box Says:

    […] I really like this quote. I can really relate to it as well as most of my friends who are into illustration I’m sure. That’s really how I feel about drawing and design. Lately when I draw its not really drawing, its more like sculpting or building a structure. I draw the same character over and over and over. Changing this, adding that, reshaping a head, changing positions, until it just pops. I swear there is all most a “pinging” sound when I make an image that is just right. Its truly what drive me. Now, Ive never been great at drawing super heroes, or real life, still life, whatever….i come up with the best images that I can muster up in the best way I know how in the style that I like. Communicating thoughts, feeling, and emotions through imagery….ya gotta love it. For more information on artist Jim Dine, check out the little article posted up on Artist Quote of the Day. -BG […]

Leave a Reply

