If painting came easily, if the answers, the solutions, were obvious, I’d find another occupation.

Karen Jacobs


Sphere 3

My paintings are a process of exploration. There are no messages or hidden agendas, other than to reveal the discoveries made during my investigations. Perhaps I do take cues from familiar surroundings and perhaps the steamy southern summers, rich patinas of aged surfaces and the mystery of moss-draped wetlands do find their way into my work. But not as images, not obviously and certainly not intentionally.

There is, of course, the seed of an idea or a bit of a plan when I begin, but I am quickly directed by the work, answering the needs, sorting the puzzles and discovering solutions. I work with layers of thick and thin color, washed or scumbled over a textured surface. Traces are left by assorted mark makers, lines are straight, curved or gestural, surfaces are wiped, dripped and spattered; all adding to an eventual sense of accumulation and the essence of time.

http://www.artquotes.net/artists/jacobs_bio.htm

One Response to “If painting came easily, if the answers, the solutions, were obvious, I’d find another occupation.”

  1. Darrius Romero Says:

    What a terrific blog post

Leave a Reply

